Sunday, May 15, 2011

Authors and books

I’ve never professed to be the best writer in the world but I enjoy making stuff up. Of course I hope other people like it too (the stuff I make up that is), because if you’re spending money on what I’ve written, I don’t want you, the reader to be disappointed. But you’re never going to please everyone, and people will find fault somewhere, whether it’s the prose, punctuation, grammar, spelling, characters, dialogue etc, but I try to write engaging fiction that I hope makes people keep turning the pages. It’s even more important to please people with a digital book as when you have a paperback, you can at least sell it on or use it to wipe your arse or stick it under a wobbly table leg, but in the digital age you can’t even say it’s worth the paper it’s written on. That’s why I appreciate it when anyone takes a chance on me and purchases something I’ve written. With so much choice out there it’s hard to sort the wheat from the chaff and as a reader myself, I know what it’s like to take a chance and buy something from an author you’ve never read before, so in alphabetical order I’m going to give a shout out to some of the perhaps less well known authors I’ve recently read whose work I've enjoyed in the hope you find something you might like too:

Kealan Patrick Burke http://www.kealanpatrickburke.com/
Garry Charles http://www.garrycharles.co.uk/
Rick Chesler http://rickchesler.com/
JG Faherty http://www.jgfaherty.com/
Guido Henkel http://guidohenkel.com/
Dave Jeffery http://davejeffery.webs.com/
Gary McMahon http://www.garymcmahon.com/
Scott Nicholson http://www.hauntedcomputer.com/
Rod Rees http://www.thedemi-monde.com/
Simon Royle http://www.simon-royle.com/
Daniel I Russell http://www.danielirussell.com/
Jeff Strand http://jeffstrand.wordpress.com/
Lee Thompson http://alongthispathsodarkly.blogspot.com/
Vicki Tyley http://www.vickityley.com/
Zoe Winters http://www.zoewinters.org/

4 comments:

Regge Ridgway said...

Like your choices. I like Scott Nicholson too. Will have to check out some of your other writers. Thanks. Reggie Ridgway http://characterswellmet.blogspot.com

Shaun said...

Thanks, Regge. I think there's a diverse mix in there, so hopefully there's something for everyone's taste.

Indigo said...

Thanks for the heads up on these authors. Look forward to exploring the links.

I think writing becomes easier in a sense, if we realize - we can't and won't please everyone. To try is futile in itself. To acknowledge this simple truth is freeing. Stripped away from stress and worry, we write for ourselves first and foremost. (Hugs)Indigo

Shaun said...

Very true, Indigo :)